In the Heart of God

“Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration—what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.” Psalm 139:13-16 (MSG)

 

The other day I was at church helping out with the youth group, and one of the young women said something that really hit me. She said, “It is ok that I am little and insignificant here on earth because I am large in the heart of God.” Whoa. That is a big statement, and it made me think. How often do we think about what God thinks of us? How often do we acknowledge who we are in God’s great scheme of things?

God is this huge, loving, powerful creator, yet we are large in His heart. He knows how many hairs are on our head, He knew us before we were born. He loved us before we were born. Psalms says that God knit us together in the womb. Knitting takes time and patience and creativity. God lovingly crafted us.

How beautiful that we have a creator that not only put care and creativity and love into our creation, but we have a creator who wants to watch His creation flourish. God wants to bless our lives; He works good things in our lives. When we feel small, defeated, ugly, alone-He is there and we are large in His heart.

Our prominence in God’s heart is so obvious when we reflect on what God did for us. Jesus came and suffered. Not only did He suffer on the cross, but he suffered as we do. He felt all of the everyday sufferings. You become close to the people you share life with. The people you are closest to hold acres of real estate in your heart.  Why are you able to relate to and love these people? Because you know what they are going through. Jesus knows what you are going through, and he wants to love you and tell you “it’s ok”.

God holds his children in His hands and, when all things of earthly significance have forsaken us, He picks up our pieces and reminds us that we are His. We are His and there is no place we can run-there is no depth we can plummet to- that He cannot save us from.

We are HUGE in His heart. He is wonderful and merciful and He wants us to know that we are large in His heart. Once you begin to look at yourself as God looks at you, your whole life will be transformed by the knowledge that your soul is cherished by a great God.

He is El Roi, The God who Sees.

He is El Shaddai, The Almighty and All-Sufficient One.

Allow yourself to be peaceful in His sight and confident that His grace and Mercy are more than sufficient.

 

Speak now or forever hold your peace

